About Us

The International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology (IACCP) was founded in 1972 and has a membership of over 800 persons in more than 65 countries. The aims of the Association are to facilitate communication among persons interested in a diverse range of issues involving the intersection of culture and psychology. IACCP is affiliated with the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS).

Conferences

IACCP holds international Congresses every two years and regional conferences in most years. The next international Congress will be in Olomouc, Czech Republic in 2020.

Publications

We are associated with several publications, including the bimonthly Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology, the online teaching resource Online Readings in Psychology and Culture, and conference proceedings. Membership fees are based on annual gross income.

Awards

The IACCP sponsors the Harry and Pola Triandis Doctoral Thesis Award, given for outstanding dissertations in any area of culture and psychology, and the Early Career Award.

Special Interest Groups

The new 2010 Constitution of IACCP provides for the creation of Special Interest Groups (SIGs). Bylaws for creation and administration of SIGs are found here.

International Education

IACCP Next Generation

Code of Conduct

The new IACCP Code of Conduct is here.

Meeting Minutes

Most of the Executive Council at the Guelph Congress, 2018.

Executive Council

The Executive Council constitutes the governing body of IACCP, and includes officers and regional representatives.  The officers are the board of directors of IACCP, Inc.  Regional representatives are elected to 4-year terms from 10 regions: 1) Europe; (2) North Africa and Middle East; (3) Central and Southern Africa; (4) South Asia; (5) South East Asia; (6) East Asia; (7) Insular Pacific; (8) North America; (9) Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and (10) South America.

Images of some past Executive Councils

Officers

ward_210w

Colleen Ward
President
2020-2022

School of Psychology, Victoria University of Wellington
New Zealand

colleen.ward@vuw.ac.nz

boehnke_200w

Klaus Boehnke
Past President
2020-2022

Department of Social Sciences and Humanities
Jacobs University, Bremen
Bremen International School of Social Sciences (BIGSSS)
Germany

k.boehnke@jacobs-university.de

Bill Gabrenya

William K. Gabrenya
President-Elect
2020-2022

Florida Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Florida USA
gabrenya@fit.edu

 

 

marta1

Márta Fülöp
Secretary-General
2020-2024

Institute for Psychology
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Victor Hugo utca 18-22
Budapest 1132
Hungary

+36-70-313-87
sec-gen@iaccp.org

Jason Young

Jason Young
Treasurer
2020-2022

City University, New York
USA

treasurer@iaccp.org

Anat Bardi

Anat Bardi
Deputy Secretary-General
2020-2022

Royal Holloway, University of London

Anat.bardi@rhul.ac.uk

friedlmeier_120w

Wolfgang Friedlmeier
Chair, Communication and Publications Committee
2018-2022

Grand Valley State University
Michigan, USA

friedlmw@gvsu.edu

Martina Klicperova

Martina Klicperova
Co-opted member for the 2020 IACCP
International Conference, Olomouc, Czech Republic

Institute of Psychology
Czech Academy of Scineces

klicperovabaker@gmail.com

Regional Representatives

achoui_moustapha_200w

Mustapha Achoui
MENA Observer
2018-2022

Professor of Psychology and Management
Arab Open University
Kuwait

Mustafait@hotmail.com

Emma_Buchtel

Emma Buchtel
Regional Representative - East Asia
2020-2024

Education University of Hong Kong

emma.buchtel@gmail.com

Julie_lee

Julie Lee

Regional Representative - Insular Pacific

University of Western Australia

julie.lee@uwa.edu.au

Gail_Ferguson

Gail Ferguson
Regional Representative - North America
2020-2024

University of Minnesota, USA

gmfergus@umn.edu

natasza_kosakowska-ndscht3zob1aw49p3awl2c4bou2r8t7k7fej88ey5s

Natasza Kosakowska-Berezecka
Regional Representative, Europe
2018-2022

Department of Cross-Cultural and Gender Psychology University of Gdansk, Poland

natasza.kosakowska@ug.edu.pl

matulessy_150w

Andik Matulessy
Regional Representative, Southeast Asia
2018-2022

Faculty of Psychology, Universitas 17 August 1945
Indonesia

andikmatulessy@untag-sby.ac.id

benish_200w

Maya Benish-Weisman
Regional Representative, North Africa and the Middle East
2018-2022

Department of Counseling and Human Development
University of Haifa, Israel

m.benish.weisman@gmail.com

Garraschi

Harrun Garashi
Central and Southern Africa Regional Rep
2020-2024

Pwani University, Dept of Social Sciences

h.garrashi@pu.ac.ke

 

chirkov_200w

Valery Chirkov
Regional Representative, North America (Canada)
2018-2022

Department of Psychology, University of Saskatchewan
Canada

v.chirkov@usask.ca

Lais

Laís Granemann
Student Representative
2020-2024

University of Brasilia

granemann.l@gmail.com

rosobal_200w

Mariano Rosabal-Coto
Regional Representative, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
2018-2022

Psychology Faculty, Universidad de Costa Rica
Costa Rica

mrosabal@gmail.com

Nicholas_Geeraert_2

Nicolas Geeraert
Regional Representative - Europe
2020-2024

Department of Psychology
University of Essex

geeraert@essex.ac.uk

singh_200w

Purnima Singh
Regional Rep - South Asia
2018-2022

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi,Hauz Khas
New Delhi- 110 016
India

+91-11-26591367
purnima125@hotmail.com

Alex_English1

Alex English
Special Representative - Early Career
2020-2024

Zhejiang University

AlexEnglish84@gmail.com

 

torres_200w

Claudio Torres
South America Regional Rep
2018-2022

Department of Social and Work Psychology, University of Brasilia
Brazil

claudio.v.torres@gmail.com